Thursday, January 7, 2021


Zoe Scott
October 2, 2020

Shades of Love is a meticulously curated collection of 12 hit songs, reimagined, by international recording artist Zoe Scott, and produced by Bossa Nova stalwart and 10-time GRAMMY and two-time Emmy-winning, Moogie Canazio.

A fully realized artist from early childhood, Zoe moved away from her family in London, for Rome, at 18. Leaving behind a loving mother and an alcoholic father for the life of an actress, songwriter, and singer. After years starring on stage and in films, the love of music drew her to Los Angeles where her name became synonymous with Rock ‘n’ Roll.

After years spent honing a hard-edged rock voice, Zoe knew mastering Bossa Nova’s understated sensuality was a journey she couldn’t make on her own. She reached out to the master himself, Moogie Canazio, the Brazilian-born producer who ultimately helped Zoe feel her way into the silky, hushed vocal qualities she sought.

Like Bossa Nova itself — born from a marriage of Jazz and Samba, and sometimes called “Brazilian Jazz” — Shades of Love also represents a cross-cultural creative marriage that connects artist and producer, LA and Rio, past and present, emotion and craft. To create the album, Zoe and Moogie spent countless hours collaborating in LA and Brazil, pouring over the best songs, refining her vocals, and immersing in the history and heartbeat of Bossa Nova. 
Photo by Lance Staedler

Zoe also chose to honor the authentic style and original sound cultivated by Bossa Nova originators João Gilberto and Antonio Carlos Jobim, she also enlisted the talents of Bossa
Nova legends, guitarist-arranger Torcuato Mariano, and Daniel Jobim, grandson of Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Daniel is a featured performer on two of his grandfather's most iconic songs; dueting with Zoe on "Wave," and playing piano on "Quiet Nights."

Along with these two beloved Bossa Nova classics, Zoe reimagined iconic songs originally recorded by Stevie Wonder, Amy Winehouse, The Beatles and more, including: “I'll Stand By You,” made famous by Chrissie Hynde; “This Girl’s In Love With You” written by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, recorded by Herb Alpert; “7 Lives,” an intimate anniversary gift written by Brazilan, Zé Ricardo, to his wife.

Zoe continues her thoughtful curation with: “The More I See You,” part of the famous club scene in Roman Polanski's Frantic, starring Harrison Ford; “Baby It’s You,” written by Burt Bacharach was recorded by The Shirelles and The Beatles; “Once I Loved,” made famous by Frank Sinatra; “My Cherie Amore,” by Stevie Wonder; “In My Life,” recorded by The Beatles; “Triste,” written by Jobim in 1966 at the Sunset Marquis Hotel in Los Angeles, as he waited for Sinatra to return from a holiday in Barbados so they could begin recording their album Francis Albert Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim. The album closes with “You Know I’m No Good,” by Amy Winehouse.

One special song is Zé Ricardo's "7 Lives," featuring the expressive clarinet of Rodrigo Sha, as a love letter to John, her partner of seven years.

Shades of Love is an album drawing the listener to the warmth of romance, love, and compassion through every thoughtfully delivered note.

In her journey from performing original indie rock to Bossa Nova covers, she embraces an expansive, openhearted vulnerability she had never experienced before, and in the process, connected her craft with who she was becoming as a person.


1 Quiet Nights
2 I'll Stand by You
3 This Girl's in Love with You
4 7 Lives
5 Wave
6 The More I See You
7 Baby It's You
8 Once I Loved
9 My Cherie Amour
10 In My Life
11 Triste
12 You Know I'm No Good

Available on all Digital Media Outlets