Wednesday, March 17, 2021


Vintage League Music
Feb. 25, 2021

In 2004 Alan Evans, co-founder / drummer of acclaimed funk / soul jazz band Soulive, recorded his first solo album, Let It Ride. Now 17 years later, this sought after album is finally released properly featuring new cover artwork and with 3 never-before heard bonus live tracks.

At his core, Alan Evans is an artist, doubling his talents as multi instrumentalist, vocalist, musician with his ear for quality and precision as a producer, recording, mixing and mastering engineer. Sporting an impressive body of work, (with credits in front of and behind the mic) a slice of Alan’s discography includes: 7 albums with Soulive, Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe, Toots and the Maytalls, Alan Evans Trio and Moon Boot Lover. Mention the name Alan Evans to a room full of music lovers, and you will get a consensus nod at one of the most celebrated and tenacious drummers in the jazz, funk, and soul scene.

Co-founder, writer and drummer of Soulive for 20 years, Alan Evans co-wrote, co-produced, recorded, and mixed the majority of their work. Alan still tours the world with Soulive, and has shared the stage with legends including The Rolling Stones, Stevie Wonder, Chaka Khan, Dave Matthews, John Scofield, and the list goes on!

When off the road, Alan is the owner, chief engineer and producer at Iron Wax Studios staying busy recording / mixing and producing a wide array of projects. The studio is also production headquaters for Vintage League Music

The album has a distinctive groove driven 70s funk vibe, mostly instrumental with a few vocal led tracks. Full of catchy hooks and outstanding musicianship. Evans wrote the album, plays drums, synths and sings. He enlisted an all star line-up of music friends to play on the album. Some of the very best of the modern funk/soul scene including:

Aaron Bellamy (Chaka Khan, Beyonce, Cee-Lo Green), Mike Feingold (Jay-Z, Erykah Badu), Ruslan Sirota (Stanley Clarke, Josh Groban), Neal Evans (Soulive, Lettuce, Jack White), Sam Kininger (Lettuce, Soulive, Dave Matthews), Cochemea Gastelum (Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Amy Winehouse, Lady Gaga), Atticus Cole (Lettuce, Bill Cole), Amee Jana, Skip Jennings, Nikki Glaspie (Nth Power, Dumpstaphunk, Beyonce).

Alan Evans - drums, synths, lead vocals
Aaron Bellamy - bass
Mike Feingold - guitar
Ruslan Sirota - keyboards
Atticus Cole - percussion
Sam Kininger - saxophone
Cochemea Gastelum - saxophone
Neal Evans - clavinet
Amee Jana - background vocals
Skip Jennings - background vocals
Nikki Glaspie - background vocals

Live at Skidmore College:
Alan Evans - drums, lead vocals
Aaron Bellamy - bass, background vocals
Mike Feingold - guitar
Jeffery Lockhart - guitar

Track Listing

1. Do It Again
2. Hot n’ Greezy
3. Let It Ride
4. Are You With Me?
5. Welcome To The World
6. Break It Down
7. Ua Ah
8. What The People Say
9. Low Down Low
10. Do It Again (outro)
11. Let It Ride - Live at Skidmore College - February 4, 2005
12. What The People Say - Live at Skidmore College - February 4, 2005
13. Ua Ah - Live at Skidmore College - February 4, 2005

Buy the album here