Monday, October 5, 2020


Label: Skytown Records
July 4, 2020

“Soulmate” is the new release from sax-man Andrey Chmut. With all ten tracks written and arranged by Chmut, it builds on the impact this talented player made with his 2018 Skytown Records debut “Smoothability” which included the tune “Moving Forward” that featured the timeless Bob James on electric piano.

The high octane “Soulmate” opens exactly in the way it means to continue with the deliciously upbeat “Night Town” that features superb interplay between Chmut on alto sax and Alex Logvinenko on keys. It establishes an intensity that permeates the entire collection and this is also apparent with ”Dance with Me” that not only finds Chmut bringing it home with his driving yet melodic playing on soprano sax but also Gennadii Bondar making a contribution on guitar that is reminiscent of Peter White at his best.

This high-energy tour de force continues apace with “Funky Talk” where “off the chain” keys from Riccardo Dalli Cardillo combines explosively with Chmut’s fiery work on alto.

Truth to tell, although the overriding theme of “Soulmate” is slanted toward energetic danceable grooves Andrey does, from time to time, take the opportunity to ease back on the gas. This is perfectly illustrated by the mid tempo “Blessed Day” and again with the similarly inclined “Wake Up” that enjoys a hook that might just get in your head and not go away. Chmut keeps things relaxed for the decidedly ethereal “If Only I Could Fly” while elsewhere the moody “After & After” finds Chmut laying down an urban vibe that in turn is complemented by “in your face” electric guitar from Matthew Monakov.

Think contemporary jazz meets dance and you have all you need to know about the zesty “Parodox”. With Eric Moore coming up big on drums this is one that really flies and later, evoking a late night landscape of a mythical rain swept city, the title cut shows off a more tender side of Chmut’s musical persona.

Closing out the album is “Beloved Routine” that proves to be a wonderful showcase for Chmut’s jazz sensibilities and underscores the message that the world of contemporary jazz has found itself a significant talent.

"Soulmate" es el nuevo álbum del saxofonista Andrey Chmut. Con los diez temas escritos y arreglados por Chmut, es la continuación del gran impacto que tuvo con su debut en Skytown Records en 2018, "Smoothability", que incluía la melodía "Moving Forward" que presentaba a Bob James en el piano eléctrico.

"Soulmate" abre con un tema de alto octanaje como es "Night Town" deliciosamente optimista que presenta una excelente interacción entre Chmut en el saxo alto y Alex Logvinenko en las teclas. Establece una intensidad que impregna toda la colección y esto también es evidente con "Dance with Me" que no solo encuentra a Chmut llevándolo a casa con su conducción, pero melódica tocando el saxo soprano, sino también a Gennadii Bondar haciendo una contribución a la guitarra que recuerda a Peter White en su mejor momento.

Este tour de force de alta energía continúa a buen ritmo con "Funky Talk" donde las teclas de Riccardo Dalli Cardillo se combinan explosivamente con el trabajo ardiente de Chmut en el alto.

A decir verdad, aunque el tema principal de "Soulmate" se inclina hacia ritmos bailables enérgicos, Andrey, de vez en cuando, aprovecha la oportunidad para soltar el acelerador. Esto está perfectamente ilustrado por el tempo medio "Blessed Day" y nuevamente con el "Wake Up" con una inclinación similar que disfruta de un gancho que podría meterse en tu cabeza y no desaparecer. Chmut mantiene las cosas relajadas para el etéreo "If Only I Could Fly" mientras que en otros lugares el caprichoso "After & After" encuentra a Chmut estableciendo un ambiente urbano que a su vez se complementa con la guitarra eléctrica de Matthew Monakov.

Imagina que el jazz contemporáneo se cruza con la danza y ya tienes todo lo que necesitas saber sobre el picante "Parodox" con Eric Moore destacando en la batería.

Cerrando el álbum está "Beloved Routine" que demuestra ser un maravilloso escaparate de la sensibilidad del jazz de Chmut y subraya el mensaje de que el mundo del jazz contemporáneo ha encontrado un talento significativo.


1. Night Town
2. Dance with Me
3. Funky Talk feat. Ricardo Dalli Cardillo
4. After & After
5. Blessed Day
6. Wake Up
7. Paradox feat. Eric Moore
8. Soulmate
9. If only I Could Fly
10. Beloved Routine

Buy the album in all stores