Thursday, October 7, 2021


Tony Exum Jr.
Oct. 4, 2021

In 2014, Thomas “Tony” Exum Jr. was honored by the CO/WY/MT NAACP Freedom Fund for excellence in the arts and involvement in the community as well as the W. Juanita Roberts Award from the Iota Beta Chapter Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority in 2015.

In his free time Tony has mentored several youth in music including the talented saxophonist Nico Colucci and volunteers his time with students across Colorado including youth talent from the Colorado Springs Conservatory, Sand Creek Elementary and Broadmoor Academy of Music and as a African American Youth Leadership Conference as a presenter since 2016. Tony is a voting member of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences and has the pleasure of voting for the Grammy Awards each year.

As a side man and opening/co-headlining act he has performed with and shared stages with R&B artists KeKe Wyatt, Sunshine Anderson, Kelly Price, actor-singer Leon, the Temptations and Four Tops, jazz legends Najee, Norman Connors, smooth jazz peers Julian Vaughn, Adam Hawley and Nick Colionne just to name a select few. Beyond work as a recording artist Tony embarked on a career in radio hosting on Colorado Springs FM station Jazz 93.5 FM with over 20 hours per week of on air time. 2019 saw Tony on the national airplay charts debuting at #93 on the Smooth Jazz Network top 100 and peaking at #70 with the single “My Name’s Tony” In 2020, Tony will release his 3rd CD/EP entitled “Rhythm and Smooth Vol 1.” with the 1st single “Old School Kind of Love” featuring Emanuel DeAnda (formerly known as “Lingerie” of the group Pretty Ricky) in Feb 2020. Venturing in business outside of music in 2019 Tony Exum Jr became the Global Brand Ambassasor for Kas’tell Vodka.

With unrestrained passion, impecable work ethic, soulful, sultry infectious sounds, and a engaging stage presence Tony Exum Jr is seasoned gem beginning to shine. As Grover Washington, Jr’s 1982 hit record suggests “the best is yet to come”.

"Get At You"

Tony Exum Jr - tenor saxophones
James Coplin - guitar
Sean Pyrtle - bass
Desmond Washington - drums and all other instruments